From launching avatars to allowing users to chat with themselves on WhatsApp, the Meta-owned company has recently made a number of announcements about new features coming to the platform. We are once again learning directly from WhatsApp about a new feature that can be helpful if you accidentally hit the ‘delete for me’ button while chatting with someone.
Will Cathcart, head of Meta and WhatsApp; took to Twitter to make the announcement. That WhatsApp users can now undo ‘delete for me’ when they accidentally hit the button. It has happened to many of us that we intend to hit the ‘Delete for everyone’ button but end up tapping ‘Delete for me’. This can be frustrating, and understandably so. As of today, you cannot delete a message from recipients’ chats after pressing ‘delete for me’, as the message is gone from your chat forever.
The option to uncheck ‘Delete for me’ will give you another chance to choose the right option. Once you undo the deletion, you’ll see three options again: ‘Delete for Everyone,’ ‘Delete for Me,’ and ‘Cancel.’ You should be aware of the possibility of committing the same mistake even after undoing ‘delete for me’. Be careful!
WhatsApp says it has added an ‘undo’ option to Chat Messenger, but don’t be surprised if you haven’t seen it on your phone yet. WhatsApp’s years-old practice is claiming that new features are coming even when they aren’t. That said, Android and iOS users should get an ‘undo’ option in the next couple of weeks, which isn’t a big deal.